Single Entry Visa (Ordinary Visa)

This Visa is issued for a single entry to a visitor for a period not exceeding three months for holidays, visiting, leisure, health treatment, studies or any other activity legally recognized by the Law.

Multiple Entry Visa

This Visa is issued to persons whose nature of their business or circumstances require them to make frequent visits to the United Republic of Tanzania. The maximum validity of this Visa is twelve months. However, the holder of the Multiple Visa cannot stay in the country for 12 consecutive months. They are required to leave the country at least after every three months.

Business Visa

Business visa will be issued once to foreigners to allow them to enter in the United Republic of Tanzania for the following purposes;

To conduct special assignments such as fixing/repairing machines or to run short term training, etc.

To conduct professional roles such as auditing accounts etc.

To conduct lawful business according to the laws of the country.

A letter from an established company will be required to introduce the applicant, nature of the trip and the business contact in Tanzania.

Students /Volunteers Visa

Students/Volunteers entry visa requirements are like other types of visas. However, a letter of invitation from the contact Institution in Tanzania should be attached to the application. For those whom their stay exceeds more than three months need to apply for Resident/Work Permits.

Applications for Resident Permits should be submitted to the Director of Immigration in Tanzania while the applicant is outside the country.

More information on types of permits and application procedures for missionaries, students, researchers, volunteers, expatriates, investors, envoys, artists, journalists etc. is available from the immigration guide provided by the Government of Tanzania.

Referred Visa

This type of visa is required for nationals of Afghanistan, Azerbaijan, Bangladesh, Chad, Djibouti, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Equatorial Guinea, Iran, Iraq, Kazakhstani, Kyrgyzstan, Lebanon, Mali, Mauritania, Niger, Nigeria, Pakistan, Palestine, Senegal, Sierra Leone, Somalia, Sri Lanka, Syria, Tajikistan Republic, Turkmenistan, Uzbekistan, Yemen and Stateless persons or persons with refugee status.

Decision to grant entry visa to Tanzania to Nationals of the above countries is made at the Immigration Headquarters in Dar es Salaam, Tanzania. However, the application is forwarded by the Tanzania Embassy in Berlin. Applicants are required to fill in visa application form and attach one passport photo, photocopies of the first five pages of passport, invitation letters or introductory letters where applicable. The applicant is required to clearly state reason for entry to Tanzania, show his/her contacts in Tanzania.

When the decision is made in Dar es Salaam, the Embassy will inform the applicant. If his application has been accepted, the applicant is supposed to submit his/her original passport to the Embassy for issuance of visa.

Applicants whom their Nationality fall under this category are not advised to book flight tickets or make payments for any reservation in Tanzania before they get approval for their Visa. Applicants of Referral Visa are advised to apply at least two months before their date of travel.

All application documents should be submitted to the following address:

The Embassy of the United Republic of Tanzania (Visa Section),
Eschenallee 1,
14050 Berlin (Charlottenburg, Westend)

Tel.: +49 (0)30-3030800
Fax: +49 (0)30-30308020

Office hours: (Mon. - Fri.) 9:00 - 16:30
Visa hours: (Mon. - Fri.) 10:00 - 13:00